Peak Consultative Group


The Stronger Super Peak Consultative Group, comprising representatives of peak industry, employer, employee and consumer groups and chaired by Paul Costello, provided broad, high level advice on the design and implementation of the reforms.

Consultation took place between February and May 2011 (with the exception of SuperStream, which is ongoing). These consultations assisted the Government in finalising the design aspects of the reforms.

Further details, including the issues papers that were considered by the working groups, can be found on the relevant working group pages. Thank you to all individuals and organisations involved in providing feedback on the implementation of the Stronger Super reforms.

A report on the outcomes of the consultation process has been released.

The Government’s decisions on the key design aspects of the Stronger Super reforms can be found in the Stronger Super Information Pack.

The ATO published questions and answers  to help super funds understand the impacts of the changes to the system and what they need to do in readiness for them.

Consultation with stakeholders will be undertaken on each tranche of legislation. The Exposure Drafts section provides details on making submissions on draft legislation.


Mr Paul Costello Chair
Mr John Berrill Principal, Maurice Blackburn
Mr John Brogden Financial Services Council
Mr Dick Grozier Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Ms Peggy Haines Consultant, Freehills
Mr Chris Connolly CHOICE
Mr Tim Lyons Australian Council of Trade Unions
Mr Michael O’Neill National Seniors Australia
Ms Fiona Reynolds Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees
Ms Andrea Slattery SMSF Professionals’ Association of Australia
Mr Peter Strong Council of Small Business Organisations of Australia
Mr Roger Urwin Towers Watson (UK)
Ms Pauline Vamos Association of Superannuation Funds of Australia
Mr David Whiteley Industry Super Network
Mr Brian Wilson Pro Chancellor of University of Technology, Sydney

* The Peak Consultative Group included the Commonwealth Treasury, supported by other relevant government agencies. Mr Wilson and Ms Haines were part of the Super System Review.