Skip to content

Our Executive

Mr Philip Gaetjens

Secretary to the Australian Treasury

Mr Gaetjens was appointed Secretary to the Treasury with effect from 1 August 2018.

Prior to his appointment as Treasury Secretary, Mr Gaetjens was Chief of Staff to Treasurer the Hon Scott Morrison MP.

Mr Gaetjens has more than 40 years’ experience in Commonwealth and State public sectors. He began as an Assistant Research Officer in the Bureau of Transport Economics in 1977 and progressed through the Department of Transport in its various incarnations working on land transport, aviation, telecommunications and government business enterprise reforms. Mr Gaetjens was then seconded to the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet before becoming a Senior Adviser in the Infrastructure Branch in 1993. During this time his principal responsibilities included electricity reform including the creation of the National Electricity Market.

In 1994 he was the Parliamentary Liaison Officer in the Australian Senate, assisting the Manager of Government Business programming legislation in that chamber.

Mr Gaetjens joined the South Australian Department of Treasury and Finance as Assistant Under Treasurer (State Enterprises) in 1995. He was charged with shaping a microeconomic reform agenda, including improving the governance and performance of State utilities. As Acting Deputy Under Treasurer in 1996, he managed the 1996-97 State Budget and oversighted three branches as well as playing a key role in structurally separating the State’s electricity utility.

Between 1997 and 2007, Mr Gaetjens was Chief of Staff to Treasurer the Hon Peter Costello MP, including a period in a dedicated Tax Unit to oversee the introduction and legislative passage of A New Tax System, in which the GST and other tax reforms were implemented.

Mr Gaetjens commenced 2008 as Chief Adviser, Competition and Consumer Policy Division in the Treasury. His focus was on competition policy and infrastructure issues, including membership of a cross-Government committee of officials on the National Broadband Network and supporting the Treasury Secretary as a member of the Broadband Panel of Experts.

In August 2008, he commenced an overseas posting as the inaugural Director of the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Policy Support Unit in Singapore. The Unit was established to provide the APEC Secretariat and member economies with policy and research capability to further champion free and open trade and investment as well as the promotion and acceleration of regional economic integration.

After returning to Australia late in 2010, Mr Gaetjens returned to the Treasury in February 2011 as Secretary of the GST Distribution Review.

In August 2011, Mr Gaetjens was appointed to the position of Secretary of the New South Wales Treasury after an international search exercise and a merit selection process. While there, Mr Gaetjens was also a member of the advisory board of the NSW Commission of Audit (Schott Review), Secretaries Board, Chair of NSW Treasury Corporation and a board member of Infrastructure NSW.

Mr Gaetjens holds a Graduate Diploma in Accounting from the University of Canberra and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) from Flinders University.

Mr Simon Atkinson

Deputy Secretary, Fiscal Group


Mr Matt Flavel

Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services and Business Strategy Group

Matt Flavel was appointed Deputy Secretary of Corporate Services and Business Strategy Group (CSBSG) in July 2017. Prior to this role Matt was the Division Head of Budget Policy Division in Treasury, assisting in the delivery of three Federal Budgets.

In addition Matt has worked across a range of areas of Treasury including business taxation, government balance sheet management, and international policy.

Matt was the Australian Treasury representative at Australia’s Permanent Delegation to the OECD in Paris from 2010 to 2012. In this role Matt represented Australia on a range of economic matters at the OECD.

Prior to Treasury, Matt worked with the Department of Finance on budget and fiscal policy issues. Matt holds a Master of Financial Management from Australian National University and an Honours degree in Economics from Adelaide University.

Ms Diane Brown

A/g Deputy Secretary, Markets Group


Ms Maryanne Mrakovcic

Deputy Secretary, Revenue Group

Maryanne Mrakovcic commenced as Deputy Secretary, Revenue Group in May 2016.

In this position, Maryanne provides advice to the Government on revenue and taxation policy matters. The work of the Group includes the provision of revenue forecasts and costings of taxation policies, analysis of the economic and social effects of taxation policy proposals, undertaking consultations and advising on taxation policy options, instructing parliamentary counsel on the design of taxation laws and supporting the passage of taxation legislation through Parliament. The Group also contributes to public understanding of revenue matters through contributions to budget and other government publications.

Prior to her current role, Maryanne was Associate Secretary of the Fiscal and Economic Group at the NSW Treasury. Maryanne held this position from February 2013 to May 2016. The Fiscal and Economic Group is the NSW Government’s central source of advice on State fiscal and economic strategy and plays a key role in coordinating high-impact policy issues with state-wide economic implications. In this role, Maryanne was also responsible for the Financial Management Transformation Project involving significant reforms to financial reporting in the NSW public sector.

Prior to joining NSW Treasury, Maryanne’s career spanned 30 years with the Commonwealth Treasury including five years at the IMF.

Maryanne holds a Masters of Economics from the Australian National University and a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) (Economics) from the University of Sydney.

Ms Meghan Quinn PSM

Deputy Secretary, Structural Reform Group

Meghan Quinn is Deputy Secretary responsible for the Structural Reform Group. The Group has responsibility for providing policy advice relating to competition, industry, infrastructure, regional development, energy, environment, communications, transport, workplace relations and regulatory reform.

Prior to commencing this role in March 2017, Meghan was Division Head, Financial System Division in Treasury’s Markets Group, Head of Secretariat for the Government’s Australia in the Asian Century White Paper (based in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet), Division Head of the Macroeconomic Modelling Division and Principal Adviser for Forecasting, both based in Treasury. Meghan has extensive macroeconomic modelling and policy experience developed through her time in the Australian Treasury and the Bank of England (1996-2004). Meghan has a Masters of Economics from the London School of Economics and a Bachelor of Economics (1st honours) from the University of Western Australia.

Meghan was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2009.

Mr Nigel Ray PSM

Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group

Macroeconomic Group advises the Treasury ministers on a wide range of matters relating to the performance of the Australian economy. These matters include current economic conditions and the outlook for the Australian economy, macroeconomic policies (i.e. monetary and fiscal), and current and prospective international economic issues.

Nigel is Australia’s G20 Finance Deputy. He is the Executive sponsor of Treasury’s Progressing Women Initiative and a member of the Board of the Centre for Market Design at the University of Melbourne.

Before taking up his current position in July 2015, Nigel was the Deputy Secretary, Fiscal Group. He joined the Treasury in 1988. Nigel served as Minister-Counsellor (Economic) at the Australian Embassy in Washington DC in 1997-2000.

Nigel holds Master of Economics and Bachelor of Laws degrees from the University of Sydney. He was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2013.