Fuel Tax Inquiry

Review chair
David Trebeck

The Prime Minister announced on 1 March 2001 that the Government would establish an inquiry into the total structure of fuel taxation in Australia.

In announcing this decision, the Prime Minister said that the Government would consult with a range of stakeholders in developing the terms of reference for the inquiry.

Following this consultation process, the Treasurer, the Hon Peter Costello MP and the Minister for Industry, Science and Resources, Senator the Hon Nick Minchin announced on 8 July 2001 the final terms of reference for the inquiry and the membership of the committee of inquiry.

The inquiry will report to the Government in March 2002.

The inquiry is supported by a secretariat comprising a number of Commonwealth Government agencies and is located in the Commonwealth Treasury.