Expert Group

The Taskforce is supported by an Expert Group drawn from peak industry bodies, consumer groups and academia recognised for their expertise in corporations, consumer, financial and credit law.

Mr Gerard Brody

Gerard is the CEO of Consumer Action Law Centre and has extensive experience in consumer advocacy having represented consumers on a number of bodies, including the ACCC’s Consumer Consultative Committee, the ASIC’s Consumer Advisory Panel and the Australian Energy Regulator’s Customer Consultative Group.

Mr Stuart Clark

Stuart is a partner at Clayton Utz in Sydney and currently serves as President of the Law Council of Australia. Stuart has been intimately involved in the development of Australian class action practice and procedure since the late 1980s, with particular interest in securities and financial loss claims. He also advises corporations, financial institutions, government agencies and individuals in relation to regulatory investigations and other inquiries, including matters arising under foreign legislation. 

Mr Ross Freeman

Ross is a partner at Minter Ellison in Melbourne and has more than 25 years’ experience as a commercial litigator with specialisation in contractual disputes, shareholder class actions, regulatory investigations and disputes, and securities market regulation and enforcement. Ross has extensive experience in representing clients involved in ASIC and ASX investigations and hearings, class actions, civil penalty proceedings and criminal prosecutions involving directors’ duties, continuous disclosure, insider trading, and other issues involving market misconduct.

Professor Pamela Hanrahan

Pamela is a Professor in the University of New South Wales specialising in corporate law and securities regulation, investment law and financial services law. Pamela has over 15 years’ experience as a lawyer in private practice and four years as a senior regulator in Australian Commonwealth and State government agencies. Pamela is a member of the Law Council of Australia currently serving on its Corporations Law Committee, and is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Professor Dimity Kingsford Smith

Dimity is the Director of the Centre for Law, Markets and Regulation of the University of New South Wales; and is a member of the ASIC’s External Advisory Panel. Dimity has particular expertise in the areas of corporations law and regulation of securities and financial products.  Dimity has served on a variety of policy-making, professional and regulatory bodies, including serving on the Future of Financial Advice Taskforce.

Professor Ian Ramsay

Ian is Professor of Commercial Law at the University of Melbourne; is a member of the Law Council of Australia and currently serves on its Corporations Law Committee. Ian has extensive experience as an expert consultant to government reviews and as a member of government advisory committees, including the ASIC’s External Advisory Panel.