Information on the Treasury website will be published in accordance with the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet's Guidance on Caretaker Conventions. No election-related material will be available on this website. Please see the relevant minister's or party's website for more information on election-related material.

Monetary and exchange rate policy issues in Pacific Island countries

Richard Wood
Publication type


Working Paper 2010-05

Against the backdrop of the global economic crisis, this paper reviews the recent application of monetary and exchange rate policies for a group of Pacific island countries that have their own currencies. These countries are Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Solomon Islands, Samoa, Tonga and Vanuatu.