Coronavirus (COVID-19) updates from the Australian Government

Terms and Conditions


Entry and eligibility

  1. All entries must be submitted using the online entry form by 5 pm (AEST) 13 August 2021. Entries submitted after this time will not be eligible. All submissions received by the closing date will receive confirmation of receipt.
  2. Photo identification will be required from winning entrants prior to the awarding of prizes.
  3. Entrants must be enrolled at an Australian university as at 30 June 2021 to be eligible to enter. This includes undergraduate, postgraduate, and part-time students. Entrants must provide their student number with their application.
  4. Treasury employees, contractors, and consultants to Treasury are not eligible to enter.
  5. Entrants must complete an entry form and comply with all terms and conditions for their entry to be eligible.

Essay guidelines

  1. Entries must be submitted in a PDF document with a cover page, title and author. Text should be presented with 1.5 spacing and in 12 pt. font size. The pages should be numbered.
  2. The file name of the essay should only include the author’s name and student number, for example, JaneSmith_12345678.
  3. Entries must be a single essay of up to 2,000 words (not including references). Essays should be written in English and may include charts or diagrams if necessary.
  4. Referencing style: Treasury prefers the Harvard system of in text citation and a reference list.
  5. Entries must be original works written by an individual author. Entries must not infringe upon anyone’s copyright. Essays that are deemed to contain plagiarism will be disqualified. Multiple entries are not permitted.
  6. Entries should not be on offer to other publications or prizes or anthologies for the duration of the Treasury essay competition.
  7. Previously published, prize-winning, or broadcast essays will not be accepted. (Previous online appearances constitute prior publication.) Entries will be deemed ineligible if they are under contract to another publisher or broadcaster.
  8. Translations are not eligible.
  9. Copyright in the essay remains with the entrant.

The judging process

  1. Essays will be shortlisted by Treasury staff following the closing date.

    The shortlisted essays will be assessed by a judging panel:

    • Chair: Mark Cully, First Assistant Secretary, Macroeconomic Analysis and Policy Division, Treasury
    • Dr Alexander Robson, Ambassador and Permanent Representative of Australia to the OECD
    • Lisa Elliston, First Assistant Secretary, International Economics and Security Division, Treasury.
  2. Essays will be judged on the following criteria:
    • Engagement with the topic and with contemporary policy issues
    • Interpretation and command of economic concepts
    • Use of evidence to present a compelling analysis
    • Originality of ideas and strength of argument
    • Quality and clarity of language and writing style.
  3. The judging panel’s decision is final, and no correspondence will be entered into about the judgements or the judging process. Treasury reserves the right not to award a prize.

Winning entries

  1. The winner will receive AU$2,500. Up to four runners-up (commendable entries) will each receive AU$1,000.
  2. Winners will be notified by email prior to the winners being announced.
  3. The winning essays will be published on the Treasury website and Treasury’s social media accounts.
  4. The winners may be required to take part in an event, media and social media activities.
  5. Treasury may edit the winning essays prior to publication and will consult the author if required.