Appendix 1 National Housing Supply Council Terms of Reference

Purpose

The National Housing Supply Council (the Council) was established in 2008 to assist the Australian Government improve housing supply and affordability for home buyers and renters. The Council aggregates and assesses data on housing supply and demand to strengthen the evidence base for decision making. It also provides advice and recommendations on options and strategies to improve housing supply and affordability.

Many of the responsibilities for planning rest at the state, territory or local authority level. Reflecting this, the Council will help Governments at all levels to identify and address housing supply and affordability challenges in an effective and sustainable way.

The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) supported the establishment of the Council and agreed to the establishment of a Working Group of state, territory and Australian Government officials to ensure data needed by the Council is supplied to it.

The Council reports to the Minister for Housing.

Responsibilities

The Council will:

- strengthen the evidence basis for decision making by advising the Minister for Housing on the state of the housing market and current developments, including the adequacy of land supply and construction activity to meet demand;
- examine the implications for housing supply of urban planning and infrastructure development, including public and private transport development, and technological change in the communications sector;
- provide advice to the Minister for Housing on options and strategies to improve housing supply and affordability, particularly for lower income households, and
- advise the Minister for Housing on specific issues as requested.

The Council's annual work program will include research activity to support these responsibilities.

The Council aims to develop and maintain strong relationships with representatives of the building and development industries, planning and development control agencies, key policy agencies, and other key interest groups. It also aims to develop strong working relationships with data and research bodies, including the Australian Bureau of Statistics, the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare, and the Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute.

Reporting

The Council will release two reports each year:

- an annual State of Supply Report on the adequacy of land supply and construction activity to meet demand and improve affordability over a 20-year outlook period;
- an annual document reporting on broader housing supply and affordability trends, developments and opportunities; and
- Council reports will be presented to the Minister for Housing and subsequently published. Additional reporting will be determined in consultation with the Minister for Housing.

Frequency of meetings

The Council aims to meet three times per year. As far as is practically possible, the Council will meet in a variety of locations to facilitate the development of strong relations with and the engagement of key interested parties.

Secretariat and budget

The Council is supported by a budget determined by the Minister for Housing, a Secretariat in the Treasury, as well as by the COAG Housing Data Working Group and the presence at all Council meetings of senior ex-officio representatives of relevant Australian Government Departments.

Governance

Minutes of meetings will be maintained recording a summary of key discussion points, agreed decisions and actions. Key outcomes of each meeting will be provided to the Minister for Housing.

The Council will report annually to the Minister for Housing on its progress and outcomes. As part of this reporting, the Council will provide the Minister for Housing with a forward work plan for the next year.

Review

The Council Secretariat will undertake a two-yearly review of the Council's Terms of Reference.

Membership

Currently the Council comprises the Chair plus eleven members. Appointments to the Council are made by the Minister for Housing in consultation with the Treasurer. Members of the Council will be part-time. The Chair is appointed for up to three years and Members for two years. The Chair and/or members may be reappointed for subsequent terms. The Minister, in consultation with the Chair, will nominate a deputy Chair. The Chair and members will be appointed as individuals and not as a representative of organisations or businesses.

The Chair is responsible for convening and chairing the Council meetings and presenting Council reports to the Minister for Housing.

Members will be appointed for their individual capacity and expertise in an area relevant to the housing industry as set out below. Members are responsible for attending meetings and contributing to the work of the Council by offering insight and guidance based on their expertise.

Sector representation sought in the membership of the Council encompasses the housing, property and building and construction industry, planning and development, infrastructure provision and financing, social welfare and community housing, banking and finance, and housing research.

Current members of the Council are:

Dr Owen Donald, Chair	Member, Advisory Committee on Social Housing and Homelessness, former Director of Housing Victoria, former CEO, Australian Housing & Urban Research Institute
Mr Saul Eslake, Dep Chair	Chief Economist, Bank of America — Merrill Lynch Australia
Ms Janet Buhagiar	Director, Social Policy, NT Government
Ms Dyan Currie	National President, Planning Institute of Australia
Ms Sue Holliday	Managing Director, Strategies for Change Pty Ltd

Professor Graeme Hugo	Australian Research Council Professorial Fellow, University of Adelaide
Mr Mark Hunter	CEO Residential, Stockland
Mr Simon Norris	Former General Manager, Clarendon Homes Queensland
Ms Mary Patetsos	Chair, SA Local Government Grants Commission
Mr Nigel Satterley AM	Managing Director, Satterley Property Group
Ms Ruth Spielman	Executive Officer, National Growth Areas Alliance
Dr Judy Yates	Honorary Associate Professor, University of Sydney
In addition, the following senior meetings:	Australian Government officers attended Council
Brenton Thomas	General Manager, Markets Group, Treasury, ex-officio participant observer

observer Support to the Council in developing this report was provided by Paul Samter,

Group Manager, FaHCSIA, ex-officio participant

Sean Innis

Grey Robertson, Julia Graczyk, Sean Williams and Anthony Krieg in the Council's Secretariat, based in the Treasury. The Council gratefully acknowledges their invaluable assistance, including with analysis and drafting the report. The findings and views expressed is this report are, however, those of the Council and do not necessarily reflect those of the Government or its agencies, including the Treasury.