Skip to content

Joint Commonwealth and Tasmanian Economic Council

The Government established the Joint Commonwealth and Tasmanian Economic Council (the Council) to drive reforms so that Tasmanian individuals, households and businesses are more likely to see lower prices, more innovative and efficient businesses, with higher quality products, more job opportunities and sustained prosperity.

The Council is chaired by the Prime Minister. Members include:

  • the Premier of Tasmania,
  • the Treasurer of Tasmania,
  • the Commonwealth Minister for Regional Development,
  • the Commonwealth Treasurer,
  • the Commonwealth Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science,
  • the Chair of the Tasmanian Major Projects Approval Agency Advisory Board, and
  • a representative from the Tasmanian business community.

The Terms of Reference for the Council are currently under review.

The Council agreed at its 20 April 2017 meeting to establish a new Business Members Group and is currently in the process of appointing members. The Council will continue to engage on priorities and actions with the Tasmanian business community through the Business Members Group.